Home Page

Religious Education

'Life in all its fullness.'

John 10:10

Our Religious Education Leader is Gemma Kibble.

We are thinkers. We are believers. We are questioners.


Religious Education (RE) includes learning about, and from, major world religions relevant to pupils at Peartree Primary School. Learning is linked to religious festivals and local places of worship. RE both supports and strengthens what we aim to do in every aspect of school life.  Our caring ethos and the value which we place on the development of the whole child, spiritually, morally, socially, culturally and intellectually, is reflected in the RE curriculum.


This aligns with the H, D and W of our curriculum intentions (see Curriculum page).


Religious knowledge and understanding are developed specifically through:

  • acquiring and developing knowledge and understanding of principal world faiths practised in Great Britain.  These include Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism and Sikhism, each of which is represented in Hertfordshire;
  • developing an understanding of the influence of beliefs, values and traditions on individuals, communities, societies and cultures, including the local community;
  • developing the ability to make reasoned and informed judgements about religious and moral issues with reference to the teachings of the principal religions;
  • enhancing pupils' own spiritual, moral, social and cultural development by:
    • developing awareness of the fundamental questions of life arising from human experiences, and how religious beliefs and practices can relate to them;
    • responding to the fundamental questions of life in the light of their experience and with reference to religious beliefs and practices;
    • reflecting on their own beliefs, values and experiences in the light of their study;
    • expressing their own personal viewpoints in a thoughtful, reasoned and considerate way;
    • recognising the right of people to hold different beliefs within an ethnically and socially diverse society.


RE is taught drawing upon the Hertfordshire Agreed Syllabus of Religious Education 2017-2022, which we adapt to meet the needs of Peartree pupils. RE is taught through eight key areas:

  • beliefs and practices - e.g. stories, religious leaders, books, God/gods, self-sacrifice, truth, life after death;
  • prayer, worship and reflection - e.g. people, festivals, pilgrimages, places, events, artefacts, lifestyle choices, actions, effects on individuals;
  • symbols and actions - e.g. sacred texts, art, music, literature, symbolism, poetry, dance, drama, prayer, forms of religious and spiritual expression, silence/stillness;
  • identity and belonging - e.g. belonging, preferences, relationships within family and community, influences on own lives, inspirational people;
  • ultimate questions - e.g. amazement, sadness, disappointment, joy, awe, in connection with the natural world and life's journey, making sense, ultimate questions of life raised by life experiences;
  • human responsibility and values - e.g. values, ethics, principles, rules, morality.
  • human responsibility and values - eg: exploring artefacts, architecture, dress and food. Researching the impact of holy books and leaders, both past and contemporary and evaluating their impact.
  • justice and fairness - eg: How do we know what is right/wrong/fair? What does charity look like in different faiths and countries? Evaluating what different people think what happens in the afterlife. Community, citizenship and morals.


Enrichment activities aimed at ‘Inspiring ambition’ include:

  • Visits to places of worship e.g. Christingle;
  • Celebrations and commemorations e.g. the Nativity, Remembrance Day;
  • Learning about class members’ special events e.g. bar mitzva, first holy communion.

Peartree Knowledge, Skills and Vocabulary Progression

Celebrating faith at Peartree